Scholarship - Amiciclub

Go to content

AMICI Naperville Area Italian American Club is a
non-profit social organization for those who
wish to enhance their appreciation of
Italian heritage and culture

2023 Wayne A. Piccin Memorial Scholarship


Brian Morton with Amici Club president, Wayne Piccin


Christian Pasquale Romano

The Winner for 2023 is....

Natalie Marie Izzo

(l-r) Jill Izzo, Natalie Izzo, Mike Izzo, Amici Club President Armando Serafini & Vice-President Donna Bonk

A note from Mary Ann Williams chairperson of the Amici Club scholarship committee:

“It is my pleasure to announce that the Amici Club committee comprised of Annette Cowart, Lina Hallstrom and Luciano Sestito together with me as the scholarship chair have selected Natalie Marie Izzo as the winner of the 2023 Wayne A. Piccin Memorial Scholarship award of $1,000.

Natalie is a senior at Downers Grove South High School and will be attending Auburn University in the Fall. She will be studying elementary education.  Natalie is a member of the National Honor Society and an Illinois State Scholar. She has vast volunteer experiences which has included many charitable causes and also volunteered as a Special Olympics coach.

Natalie's Italian heritage has been the most important part of her identity. Her family and their hard work ethic has served as the foundation for all the character traits Natalie has acquired from her immigrant grandparents on both sides. Natalie stated these lessons of hard work and love of family has led her to be a well-rounded student, but never at the expense of spending time with family.

Natalie has worked every summer since she was 16 and still maintained a 4.35 Grade Point Average. She has baby sat for family and helped prepare their meals. Natalie has attended the sports activities of her cousins to cheer them on all in support of family.

Passed down from family is her faith. She stated her Faith has strengthened her family and led her to discover a love of teaching by serving others.

I am confident that our Committee has selected Natalie Marie Izzo as the very qualified and deserving winner of the scholarship award."


Back to content